Monday, November 29, 2010

East New Britain MPs pledge to work together



ALL five national members of parliament from East New Britain have pledged their undivided support and cooperation to ensure the province is developed further to the next level, The National reports.

The ENB leaders’ summit held at parliament house last Thursday evening was attended by Governor Leo Dion, Pomio MP Paul Tiensten, Rabaul MP Dr Allan Marat, Kokopo MP Patrick Tammur and Gazelle MP Malakai Tabar.

The summit was a follow-up to the inaugural meeting held in July last year to discuss issues affecting the development of the province.

According to deputy administrator for policy, planning and evaluation, Bernard Lukara, the summit provided a real opportunity for the leaders to discuss issues and organised and facilitated annually by the provincial administration.

Provincial administrator Akuila Tubal also gave a brief statement to the leaders at the summit on the development status of the province, including the vision, mission and values for the new provincial strategic development for the province 2011-21, New Britain highway, 2011 provincial budget themes and strategies and recommendations from the ENB-WNB joint development meeting held last month.

Dion thanked all leaders for attending saying the show of support among the leaders was for the good of the province.

Tammur commended his colleagues and thanked Dion for his leadership.

No comments:

Post a Comment