Thursday, July 28, 2011

APEC launches ASPIRE prize for innovative scientists

Issued by APEC Industrial Science and Technology Working Group

Singapore, July 27, 2011 – To encourage innovation in the Asia-Pacific region, the APEC Science Prize for Innovation, Research and Education (ASPIRE Prize) will be awarded in September 2011 to recognise young scientists who have demonstrated a commitment to both excellence in scientific research, as evidenced by scholarly publication, and cooperation with scientists from other APEC economies.  This year’s theme is “green growth,” one of the priorities for APEC USA 2011.

Ambassador Muhamad Noor said that the ASPIRE Prize builds upon APEC economies’ efforts to actively promote environmentally-sustainable economic growth and their desires to help member economies successfully transition to a clean energy future.


“APEC is an important facilitator for the best scientific minds from both sides of the Pacific Ocean to work on the region’s most pressing issues including climate change, energy efficiency  as well as sustainable forest management,” said Noor.


“Science and technology is a field with infinite possibilities. More often than not, the best innovations and solutions come about when people from diverse backgrounds are brought together.”


APEC encourages the development and application of industrial science and technology that improves the quality of life, while safeguarding the natural environment and achieving sustainable development.


APEC Industrial Science and Technology Working Group (ISTWG) Lead Shepherd, Wan Zaharah Wan Mohamad, said that the ASPIRE prize is a symbol of APEC’s commitment to promote innovative research and development, knowledge sharing, and scientific collaboration in the region, which hosts some of the world’s largest rainforests and marine resources.


“The ASPIRE prize will provide much needed recognition to the best scientists while continuing to nurture young scientists in the APEC region,” said Wan Zaharah Wan Mohamad. “We hope that the ASPIRE Prize will help raise the visibility of world-class research now being conducted by scientists in the developing APEC member economies,” she said.


Each APEC member economy is invited to submit one nominee under the age of 40 for the ASPIRE Prize.  The winner will receive prize money in the amount of $25,000 and is expected to be honoured at the Joint Ministerial Meeting on Energy and Transportation to be held September 12-13, 2011, in San Francisco, California.  U.S. Secretary of Energy Steven Chu is expected to award the ASPIRE Prize. The ASPIRE Prize is sponsored by John Wiley & Sons, Inc. and Elsevier.


For more information on submitting nominees, please contact Mr. Luis Enrique Vertiz, APEC Industrial Science and Technology Working Group Program Director, APEC Secretariat, at Nominations will continue to be accepted until 1 August 2011.


# # #

For more information, contact: Ai Ghee Ong at +65 6891 9671 or or Michael Chapnick + 65 6891 9670 or












No comments:

Post a Comment