Monday, August 08, 2011

Sepik MPs cry foul over cabinet jobs

 THREE Sepik members of parliament have claim­ed that the new go­vern­ment of Peter O'Neill has overlooked them for mi­nisterial portfolios, The National reports.
The two members, who defected to the op­position camp, were the member for Wosera-Gawi Ronald Asik and member for Wewak Dr Moses Manwau. 
Asik defected to the opposition a week before the change of government while Manwau was behind the move to change government.
The other member is Telefomin MP Peter 
Iwei, who defected to the opposition with Belden Namah during the March Girls move to topple the Somare-led National Alliance go­vernment.
The two East Sepik MPs said their people had not been represented in cabinet although it was a difficult decision to cross the floor from a previous government that was controlled by Sepiks.
Morobe and Western Highlands have four ministers, followed by Eastern Highlands with three and Bougainville, Chimbu, Southern Highlands, Central, NCD, Milne Bay and New Ireland with two each. 
The other eight provinces have one ministry each while the other province that missed out is West New Britain.
"This is not a fair distribution of ministries as the Sepiks have not been represented. 
"The same people on the other side have come again to control government. There is no difference in the new government," they said.
Manwau said he was frustrated because the people of East Sepik did not have representation in cabinet.

No comments:

Post a Comment