Monday, November 24, 2014

Papua New Guinea reach WT20 qualifier

Cricket World

Papua New Guinea have earned themselves a place at next year's ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier after winning the 2014 ICC EAP Trophy against Vanuatu.
Papua New Guinea celebrate winning the 2014 ICC EAP Trophy© REUTERS / Action Images

  Fresh from beating Hong Kong in their first two One-Day Internationals earlier this month, they beat off their regional competition, winning the final against Vanuatu by seven wickets.
They chased down a target of 97 in just 12 overs and will now join the best Associate and Affiliate sides from around the world as they chase a place at the ICC World Twenty20 2016, which will be held in India.
Six teams will qualify from the 2015 Qualifier, which will be hosted by Ireland and Scotland. Ireland, Afghanistan, Nepal, United Arab Emirates, the Netherlands, Hong Kong and PNG will be joined by seven other regional qualifiers.
PNG won all seven of their group matches to qualify for the final with Vanuatu, who only lost to PNG. Fiji, Samoa, Phillipines, Japan, Indonesia and Cook Islands rounded out the remaining places.
Fiji will play Japan and Samoa the Phillipines in a 50-over mini-tournament to decide which team represents the East-Asia Pacific region in World Cricket League Division Six - See more at:…/39406.htm…

No comments:

Post a Comment